Dive or No Dive? Social Media Erupts as Wilfried Zaha Wins Dubious Penalty Against Arsenal
Dive, or no dive? That is the question.
Few players split opinions like Wilfried Zaha does when it comes to the way he goes down and the game against Arsenal today has produced another hugely controversial moment in the career of the Palace winger.
With Arsenal leading 2-1, the former Man United winger picked up the ball on the inside right before stepping over the ball to take it past Granit Xhaka...down went Zaha and the referee immediately pointed to the spot.
Palace levelled the scored with their second penalty of the day but the controversy was only just beginning as social media erupted in reaction to the incident involving a player who has been criticised for diving in the past.
There was clearly contact between the two players but it is fair to say that plenty of people on Twitter though the Ivorian went down far too easily...
Zaha should go and apply to become a diver for the Olympic team at this rate..- (@TWxllcott)
Atkinson living up to his reputation! Zaha should have been booked for diving! - (66gooner99)
Poor from us today. Zaha and his blatant dive didn't help. Need to be much better against Liverpool. - (KaybeeGooner)
Cant argue that we deserved anymore than a point out of that but Zaha’s dive for the second pen was seriously embarrassing. The run of riding our luck finally ends #cpfcvafc - (xdazax)
The game ended 2-2 with both sides perhaps happy with a point given the end to end nature but it wasn't without controversy for both teams.
What do you think? Dive, or no dive?