Greg Rutherford Named In Great Britain's 31-Strong Squad For The World Indoor Championships

Greg Rutherford Named In Great Britain's 31-Strong Squad For The World Indoor Championships
08:13, 21 Feb 2018

Olympic gold medallist Greg Rutherford has been named in a 31-strong British squad for the IAAF World Indoor Championships taking place in Birmingham from 1-4 March.

Rutherford, who won long jump gold at the 2012 London Olympics, missed much of last season through injury and he eventually had to undergo surgery on both his groin and ankle in the autumn. The 31-year-old only started walking again in November and he marked his return to competitive action by winning at the British Athletics Indoor Championships on Saturday.

In his first competitive start since May 2017, Rutherford produced a best jump of 7.80m on Saturday, some way short of the 8.19m required to guarantee automatic qualification for the World Indoors team, but British Athletics were able to give him a slot in their squad as they are the host nation.

Laura Muir (3,000m) and Andrew Pozzi (60m hurdles) both guaranteed automatic qualification with victory at the British Indoors competition at Arena Birmingham last weekend, with Eilish McColgan (3,000m) and David King (60m hurdles) each joining them in their respective fields.

CJ Ujah won the British 60m title at the weekend and he will represent Britain in the men's sprint, along with Andrew Robertson, although Richard Kilty misses out after bringing the curtain down on his indoor season early due to an ongoing Achilles injury.

Asha Philip was a dominant winner of the women's 60m on Saturday and she is joined in the squad by British silver medallist, Daryll Neita.

Meanwhile, Lee Thompson produced a fine performance to win the 400m inside the qualifying standard on Sunday and he is one of seven athletes who will make their British debut at senior level at the World Championships in March.

The British Squad

CJ Ujah, Andrew Robertson

400m: Lee Thompson

800m: Elliot Giles

1500m: Jake Wightman, Chris O’Hare 

3000m: Jonathan Davies

60m hurdles: Andrew Pozzi, David King

High jump: Robbie Grabarz

Long jump: Greg Rutherford

4x400m: Lee Thompson, Jamal Rhoden-Stevens, Grant Plenderleith, Owen Smith, Sebastian Rodger, Efe Okoro.

Asha Philip, Daryll Neita

400m: Eilidh Doyle, Zoey Clark

800m: Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Mhairi Hendry

1500m: Eilish McColgan, Laura Muir

3000m: Laura Muir, Eilish McColgan

60m hurdles: Marilyn Nwawulor

High jump: Morgan Lake 

Pentathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson 

4x400m relay: Eilidh Doyle, Zoey Clark, Amy Allcock, Anyika Onuora, Meghan Beesley, Hannah Williams