PDC World Darts Championship Memories: Nine Dart Finishes At The Alexandra Palace

PDC World Darts Championship Memories: Nine Dart Finishes At The Alexandra Palace
11:18, 30 Nov 2018

Paul Lim's sensational nine-dart finish at the 1990 World Darts Championship will live long in the memory, but it's flabbergasting to think that the next perfect leg at the Worlds didn't happen until Raymond van Barneveld notched his own at the 2009 showpiece at the Alexandra Palace.

But, van Barneveld's nine-dart leg was the catalyst for a decade of darts that saw the elite players launch their names into the World Championship nine-dart club and it would be no surprise if we saw new names catapult themselves into the limelight at next month's William Hill World Darts Championship, which kicks off on December 13.

The Ally Pally has been the venue for nine memorable nine-dart finishes and we take you on a trip down memory lane to remember the sensational feats achieved by some of the finest players to pick up a dart.

van Barneveld followed up his sensational nine-dart leg in 2009 by notching another in the same year, but in the 2010 tournament.  Dominant against Brendan Dolan, fan's favourite 'Barney' ignited mayhem in the crowds as he etched his name on to the nine-dart roll of honour for a second time.

Arguably, the most memorable nine-dart leg came in the 2011 World Darts Championship final as Adrian Lewis knocked in the perfect leg in the first set of his match with Gary Anderson, and 'Jackpot' not only bagged the £10,000 prize, but also went on to lift the trophy for the first time in his career.

Two years later Dean Winstanley produced his own piece of magic as trailing to Vincent Van der Voort the Rotherham thrower bagged a spectacular nine-dart leg, while in the same year Michael van Gerwen sent shockwaves through the darting world as not only did he bag a nine-darter in his semi-final win over James Wade, but the very next leg the dazzling Dutchman hit eight perfect darts and only missed the double 12 by a whisker.  17 perfect darts from van Gerwen nearly saw him create sensational history by becoming the first man to achieve back-to-back nine-dart finishes at the World Championship.

In recent times, Terry Jenkins and Kyle Anderson have achieved their own perfect legs at the 2014 Worlds, while Adrian Lewis (2015) and Gary Anderson (2016) are another brace of star players to have shown their brilliance on the oche, and we will now turn our attentions to this year's event and see who can land the tenth nine-dart finish at the Alexandra Palace.

Watch Michael van Gerwen's near-miss in trying to land back-to-back nine-dart legs in 2013.

Suggested Searches:
Manchester United
Manchester City
Marcus Rashford
Premier League
Sportsman HQ
2nd Floor Queens House
St Lincoln Square
Manchester M2 5HT
0161 507 9888 (8am - 10pm)
We will not ask you to provide any personal information when using The Sportsman website. You may see advertisement banners on the site, and if you choose to visit those websites, you will accept the terms and conditions and privacy policy applicable to those websites. The link below directs you to our Group Privacy Policy, and our Data Protection Officer can be contacted by email at: DataProtection@Betfred.com

All original material is Copyright © 2019 by The Sportsman Communications Ltd.
Other material is copyright their respective owners.