Carabao Cup Draw: EFL Newcomers Sutton United Travel To Championship Cardiff

Here's everything you need to know from Thursday's League Cup first round draw
16:24, 24 Jun 2021

We may be deep into the events of Euro 2020 but it does not take away the eagerness of returning to domestic football for the 2021/22 season. 

English Football League fans were treated to not only the league fixtures today but also the first-round draw of the Carabao Cup. As is the way of the current format, teams from the Championship through to League Two are drawn in a north and south draw. Sheffield United were the only team of those relegated from the Premier League to be included in the first-round draw with West Bromwich Albion and Fulham joining in the second-round.

The Blades will host League Two outfit Carlisle United in Slaviša Jokanović’s first taste of cup action in South Yorkshire. Wayne Rooney’s Derby County will host Salford City, owned by famed figures of Manchester United’s Class of ‘92, whom Rooney will know quite well, so that is sure to be an interesting tie. 

AFC Bournemouth will host MK Dons at the Vitality Stadium and there may just be a new manager in the hot seat when this fixture rolls around, with a lot of reports suggesting current Fulham boss Scott Parker could be on his way to the south coast.

New boys Blackpool face fellow Championship side Middlesbrough at Bloomfield Road and Hull City play host to League One Wigan Athletic at the KCOM Stadium. The other Championship newbies Peterborough United will host League One side Plymouth Argyle. 

Championship new boys Blackpool will host Middlesbrough at Bloomfield Road
Championship new boys Blackpool will host Middlesbrough at Bloomfield Road

The fresh faces in the EFL have some interesting ties with Sutton United travelling to Wales to face Cardiff City, while Leyton Orient will host Queens Park Rangers at the Breyer Group Stadium and Hartlepool United will entertain Crewe Alexandra at Victoria Park.

Reading will host Swansea City at the Madejski Stadium in an all-Championship affair while Coventry City will mark their return to the Ricoh Arena with a double header back on home soil with their clash against Northampton Town coming straight after their opening league fixture against Nottingham Forest. 

Prior to the draw, the EFL announced that a new two-year extension had been agreed with Carabao to sponsor the competition, meaning the League Cup shall remain known as the Carabao Cup until 2024.

Here is the first-round Carabao Cup draw in full:

North draw

Sheffield Wednesday v Huddersfield Town

Derby County v Salford City

Hartlepool United v Crewe Alexandra

Shrewsbury Town v Lincoln City

Mansfield Town v Preston North End

Port Vale v Sunderland

Sheffield United v Carlisle United

Blackpool v Middlesbrough

Harrogate Town v Rochdale 

Stoke City v Fleetwood Town

Walsall v Doncaster Rovers

Oldham Athletic v Tranmere Rovers

Rotherham United v Accrington Stanley

Barrow v Scunthorpe United

Hull City v Wigan Athletic

Bolton Wanderers v Barnsley 

Nottingham Forest v Bradford City

Blackburn Rovers v Morecambe

South draw

Cambridge United v Swindon Town

Exeter City v Wycombe Wanderers

Crawley Town v Gillingham

Burton Albion v Oxford United

Coventry City v Northampton Town

Ipswich Town v Newport County

Forest Green Rovers v Bristol City

Reading v Swansea City

Cardiff City v Sutton United

AFC Bournemouth v MK Dons

Bristol Rovers v Cheltenham Town

Peterborough United v Plymouth Argyle 

Leyton Orient v Queens Park Rangers

Stevenage v Luton Town

Millwall v Portsmouth

Birmingham City v Colchester United

Charlton Athletic v AFC Wimbledon

Suggested Searches:
Manchester United
Manchester City
Marcus Rashford
Premier League
Sportsman HQ
72-76 Cross St
Manchester M2 4JG
We will not ask you to provide any personal information when using The Sportsman website. You may see advertisement banners on the site, and if you choose to visit those websites, you will accept the terms and conditions and privacy policy applicable to those websites. The link below directs you to our Group Privacy Policy, and our Data Protection Officer can be contacted by email at:

All original material is Copyright © 2019 by The Sportsman Communications Ltd.
Other material is copyright their respective owners.